Amore puntini di Polka

Amore puntini di Polka! I LOVE POLKA DOTS!

If I could decorate the White House for Christmas, I would do it with a total PoLkA DoTtY theme! Some migh think I’m a little polka dotty in the head, but I can’t help it! I especially like to mix the polka dots with stripes and plaids and patterns OH MY!

Okay now for the “Debbie Downer” part of this post (Don’t hit that X, it won’t last but a second!)

This project is adorable, reeealllly, I promise! It’s the confounded pictures that just don’t do it justice! I wish I could invite everyone over to see my stuff in person, because the pictures just can’t show how cute stuff really is. So come on over folks to my little corner of East Texas!

It started out with a need to decorate/cover a flourescent bulb over the little nook above my kitchen sink. I knew I wanted to use small towels instead of a little curtain. I wanted to do this with the word NOEL for Christmas, but as I’ve said, there is a long list of projects I still want to get done by next Christmas. I’m a teacher, so I always keep a list of things to complete with my time off. It’s funny how my closets and drawers still need cleaned out, but my storage room is full of all the stuff that took priority!

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<Isn’t this fabric and ribbon DARLING!!!

I love mixing the patterns and adding beads and buttons!>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

This is my idea of FUN!

BTW-This is totally no sew, only hot glue involved here. I vow to be able to at least thread the sewing machine by next year. (I know you’re impressed with my high goals, right? 🙂

Here’s how I did it:

1. Cut the fabric for the bottom ruffle about twice as long as the towel is wide. I ran a thread through the top of the strip of fabric and pulled it so the fabric had a ruffle. I got it the same width as the towel and glued down.

2. I found the cutest ruffled ribbon and glued it to the top of where the ruffled fabric was glued.  A girl can never have too many ruffles!

3. I traced the letters and the background fabric squares from stencils I had. I didn’t want it to be all the same, so I varied placement. Glue down where you like.

  4. GO CRAZY WITH THE EMBELLISHMENT FUN!!!!!!!!

  I moved pieces around and played for a while before I finally committed to the hot glue.

 I know things aren’t perfectly straight, but it looks really cute hanging above my sink. Makes me happy:)

“When the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that’s AMORE! When the world seems to shine like you’ve had too much wine, you’re in LOVE!”


michellepaige

Happy Go Lucky                             &     http://whipperberry.com/

One thought on “Amore puntini di Polka

Leave a Reply

