Springy Thingy

To be honest (TBH), I was so inspired by the handmade flowers that were all over Pinterest and so excited about the unusually spring like weather, I made this frame wreath before Valentine’s Day!  I waited to post about it til now so that I could hopefully inspire some of y’all to create one of your own for the spring season that is thankfully approaching ever so quickly-

ALL SMILES IN ALL CAPS ABOUT THAT!

I am not a fan of January, February, and really, not even March. I’ve been a teacher for fifteen years now and I spend a lot (probably too much) time wishing my life away, with countdowns to holidays, breaks, and especially SUMMER!!!  I am a huge fan of June, July, and August! I love my students with all my heart and everything-but the good Lord knew what he was doing when he created vacation!

 Can I get an AMEN!?

I learned there are many, many ways to make a flower. I did use my Cricut to cut out a few of the shapes, but you can cut things out by hand. You mainly just have to think about how real flowers look. They start off small and kind of tightly wrapped on the inside and then the petals get bigger and more open as you work your way around.

The fringy yellow one is just strips of paper with with fringe cut down one side, then rolled around and around. Sorry I didn’t get many pics of the process. It’s hard to take pics while your burning your fingers with hot glue!


I wrapped the frame in white tulle. I love that stuff! It can make anything look pretty and feminine. At first I was going to use this old, tattery lawn chair webbing and use black and white paper for flowers. But then I thought,” This is in the name of SPRING! Let’s get crazy with some color!” I’m so glad I did! My mantel is really turning out cute. Post about that is coming soon!

I plan to make GOBS more flowers for a vase I want to add to my spring tablescape. I promise to take more pics then!  See you soon!

I'm so glad I didn't go this route!

I spray painted the frame white so it wouldn't show through the tulle.

I'm so happy that these little banners are so "in"

Linking up to these fab parties:
Home Stories A2Z

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Pincushion Creations

The 36th AVENUE

A Delightsome Life

made in a day

Somewhat Simple

Keeping It Simple you are talking too much/>

you are talking too much A Crafty Soiree shabby creek cottage button michellepaige Positively Splendid

Photobucket
“/> 52 Mantels HookingupwithHoHWayward WeekendPhotobucket

26 thoughts on “Springy Thingy

  1. Pingback: SPRING: LeT’s PaRtY ! | making dreams into decor & decor dreamy daily

  2. Love this wreath. Way to think out of the box :o)!
    Your blog has so many great ideas I would be honored to bestow the Liebster Blog Award to you! Keep up the good work, I love it!

    -Jacque

  3. Ohhhh your so good at these… really very pretty, and i hope that you share your craftiness with your students too !
    I found your blog whilst stopping by at Centsational Girl blog. I too am holding a Linky Party for fellow minded crafters… i would love it if you would maybe hop along and add your link — share your blog with my followers. There aren’t that many Sunday link up parties out there… so I hope others will join too.
    jennie. xx
    http://www.snapdragonshots.com/2012/03/welcome-sn-apdr-agon-diar-ies-sunda-y_25.html

  4. I love spring too! I am your newest linky follower — anyone who is dreaming about spring in January/February is worth following in my book! This is a cute project!

Leave a Reply

